Cursor

ActiveFree plan availableLast updated 5 October 2026 · Robert Levandovsky

Verdict

Evidence: Editorial assessment

Cursor is an AI-first code editor built on VS Code. It suits developers who want chat, multi-file edits and agents inside the editor rather than in a terminal. The free Hobby plan is limited to a small number of agent requests, so most regular users pay for the $20 Individual plan; Pro+ and Ultra cost more.

Quick facts

Cursor
MakerAnysphere
CategoryAI Coding Assistants
Pricing modelFree plan available
StatusActive
Official sitecursor.com
Data last checked5 October 2026

Key facts and sources

Verified = read on the provider's own page. Reported = third-party source, not yet confirmed. Claimed by provider = vendor claim, not tested by aixjo.
ClaimDetailEvidenceSource
Plans and pricesHobby free with limited agent requests; Individual $20/month (Pro, Pro+ and Ultra tiers); Teams $40/user/month; Enterprise custom.VerifiedCursor pricing, 5 October 2026

Pricing

Cursor plans

Evidence: Verified
Read on the provider's own pricing page. US dollars, before tax.
PlanPriceBillingKey limitChecked
Hobby$0—Limited agent requests5 October 2026
Individual (Pro)$20 / monthMonthlyPro+ and Ultra tiers cost more; prices not stated5 October 2026
Teams$40 / user / monthPer user, monthlyTeam administration5 October 2026
EnterpriseCustomContractContact sales5 October 2026

Who should use it

  • Developers who want AI editing inside a familiar VS Code-style editor
  • Multi-file changes reviewed as visual diffs
  • Small teams that want per-user billing ($40 per user a month)

Who should skip it

  • Your team standardises on JetBrains or another IDE
  • You want the lowest paid price (Copilot Pro is $10 a month)

Limitations and risks

  • The free Hobby plan has limited agent requests.
  • Higher tiers (Pro+ and Ultra) exist; their prices were not stated when checked.
  • Moving to Cursor means switching editors, which carries setup cost for teams.

How it compares: Cursor alternatives

Rating

Not yet rated. We show a rating only when at least four of six criteria have documented evidence. How we rate AI tools

Common questions

How much does Cursor cost?

Cursor Hobby is free with limited agent requests. Individual is $20 a month, with Pro+ and Ultra tiers above it. Teams is $40 per user a month and Enterprise is custom. Checked on cursor.com/pricing during our 5 October 2026 audit.

Is Cursor free?

Cursor has a free Hobby plan, but it limits agent requests. Treat it as a trial; regular use needs the $20 Individual plan or higher.

Sources